Close
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 10 of 15

Hybrid View

Default From 3 to 5 man machine upgrade for WOW

Noob here,

I dont know much about computers, ( I know alot about cooking thou ) I have no idea what graphic cards Im looking for or anything on that matter.

At the moment I'm doing tri multiboxing with a

CPU: i5 4460 CPu 3.20Hz
    ASUSTEK H97 -PRO
    VIDEO CARD: GEFORCE 9600GT
    RAM 32GB

While I have no problem mining or herbing or doing WQuest.

I tested a 5 man team and it felt fine but when I hit Legion the game was unplayable. The only zone I could be ok in was Highmountain
    So I thought I could come here and ask about advice. Living in Japan Video cards are so expensive compared to the states.

So just a video card would allow me to play wow? My max is about 40, 000 yen

Im looking for an upgrade for the lowest setting, I dont care really, I just need to be able to play smoothly.

Ive been reading not to buy an Raedon coz of the crossfire SLI it wont able to play in window version of wow?

Anyone give some suggestions
    This is the website I will be using

http://kakaku.com/pc/videocard/ranking_0550/

while alot of things will be in Japanese the ranking of them the specs are in English..

A 1060 6GB card should be plenty for basic 5-man multiboxing at 1080p with managed settings. Looking at those prices, they aren't all that far off of Amazon in the US. 250-290US there vs 220-290 here. For example, the ASUS STRIX-GTX1060-DC2O6G is about $300US here on Amazon, and if my conversion rate is right, it's about $284US there. You'll still need to manage background client settings to make it work well but that should be sufficient, especially if you've been OK with a 9600GT.
    Now playing: WoW (Garona)

I believe the i5 4460 only has 4 cores and no hyperthreading.
    A while ago I bought a non-hyperthreaded CPU (Core i5-2500) and found it to be insufficient to handle 5 toons.