Close
Showing results 1 to 9 of 9

Default Sudden huge FPS drop?

For the last couple of days, I've been getting about 20 FPS at best, no matter where I am in WoW.

Previously, with the exact same set-up, I'd been getting 60 FPS consistently - smooth as butter.

Was there an update of some kind in the game or something that's caused problems?

I've tried updating drivers, disabling add-ons, loading one character at a time, etc. etc. with no luck. No other games on my system have a similar problem, and I haven't noticed any performance decreases anywhere else. Setting everything to the lowest settings does nothing, either. I'm at 20 FPS whether my settings are set to max or set to minimum.

Hardware:
    6850k cpu
    64GB RAM
    2x 1080

I've been using this machine for about 6 months with no issues.

Any suggestions? I'm stumped.

Other troubleshooting stuff:
    maxfpsbk and maxfps in configs are set to 30 and 0, respectively. When I am in a different window, my FPS will improve to 30. So I'm thinking maybe there's something screwy with that setting, despite the fact that I haven't changed it, somehow?

Have you deleted your Cache folder too? I noticed a bit of a slowdown too last couple of days, but nothing close the as bad as what you're experiencing. I chalked it up to population or lighting effects in the zone I was in.