Close
Showing results 1 to 7 of 7

Default Opinions on new i7 and MBs for a new build

I'm about to build a new PC. I build a new one every two or three years. I was reading through some reviews of the new CPUs and MBs and wanted advice as I am not that tech savvy. Mainly, are they a true and noticeable upgrade to the previous offerings? All this from a multiboxers perspective. Another way to put it, if you had 3kish to spend on a new build, would you buy these new parts and why?

For my new build i will not need a GPU or Montiors.. i'm plenty happy with my two 27' screens and I have a 780ti classified gpu. ( might buy a second for the new rig )

cpu review http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-cpu,3918.html

There were a ton of x99 MB reviews.. i just picked one
    MB review http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages...review,21.html
    Currently 5 Boxing 5 Protection Paladins on Whisperwind Alliance
    The Power of Five!!! ( short video )

Quote Originally Posted by Lyonheart View Post
    Mainly, are they a true and noticeable upgrade to the previous offerings?
    I'd say there are a few different ways to answer this based on what you've currently got, so I'll just throw out some stuff and you can see if it helps.

1) If you only have a stock quad-core CPU (even one with hyper-threading), the 6 or 8-core HW-E (2011-3 / X99) CPUs are likely going to be a noticeable upgrade because real cores are better than virtual cores in terms of total thread count. However, if you already have a Devil's Canyon 4790K with a sexy overclock, then you're probably going to need a 5960X in order to see any real difference.