Close
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Showing results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Upgrading PC

Default Upgrading PC

Im looking to maybe upgrade my PC and as i have limited knowledge in regards of computer hardware im looking for some advice on what to get and what to keep.

What i have now:

CPU Intel core i5-3570K CPU 3.40GHz
    RAM Corsair Vengeance 2133 MHz 2x4GB
    GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
    Motherboard MS-7758

Also got SSD drive for my system files and games.

im looking to be able to play the new watchdogs game smoothly on minimum graphics ( higher graphics is ofc nice but not going to spend money on a better graphics card if its not needed ) and multibox 8+ eve clients on minimum settings ( the more the better )

Any help is appreciated, maybe ill even throw a bunch of geckos at someone as a thanks

If you are going to upgrade anything it would be the graphics card. Otherwise, I see no reason that system won't do what you want.
    “Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent.
    Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent.
    Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil?
    Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God?”
    Epicurus

Might want some more ram if you intend to run 8 clients. I don't know what the ram usage is in eve. You can just run eve and find out. Multiply by 8 and add a few GB on top as a buffer. that's your sanity minimum. More wouldn't hurt.

Additionally when running high numbers of clients you sometimes run into cpu bottlenecks. Probably your best bet is to find someone running 8 eve's and ask what their specs and recommendations are. You have a quad core, which is good; but no HT which is less good. Having more cores is a good thing when going to high-numbers of clients; though its not that important otherwise.

For any application other than boxing I agree with pinotnoir. The gpu should be your first stop.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk