Close
Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Default My Main runs very slow when using HKN

I am relatively new to Multi-boxing, I have only been doing it for about 6 months. I first started out with Octopus which worked really well for what I wanted to do. Except for I have really wanted to do AoE spells from my main rather than having to switch windows and target manually. So I downloaded HKN, got all the scripts setup and was able to not only do the same things as Octopus I also was able to start firing off some AoE's in a pretty tight pattern. However, my main was dragging really badly. It seemed like I was getting single digit framerates everywhere I went (first thought it was Stormwind, but then Menethil Harbor was the same). When I would switch over to the Alt's, they were smooth as silk. I think it might have to do something with the affinity settings, but I haven't gotten a chance to play with it much. I wanted to see if anyone else had problems like this. Doing a quick search and a skim over the topics nothing seemed to pop out as similar.

My setup is

Pentium D 805 OC'ed to 3.4 Ghz
    4 GB of RAM
    Vista x64 SP1

I wouldn't think that HKN was much more resource intensive than Octopus and even if it were, I would think that the slowness would also affect the alts as well as the main. Which leads me to think I just need to tinker with the script settings. Any advice would be appreciated.

This is a pretty unusual problem -- I can't remember anybody reporting it before. You might be right about affinity since the presence of HotkeyNet might change the way Windows schedules threads. I would try setting all your WoWs to run on all cores and see if that changes anything. HotkeyNet has an easy command for that:

Code:
    <Hotkey F1>
       <SendLabel ...>
          <SetAffinity all>
    �Author of HotkeyNet and Mojo

Setting the Affinity to all did the trick. It's an awesome program.

Terrific. Thanks for the kind words.