Close
Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... LastLast
Showing results 71 to 80 of 107
  1. #71

    Default

    Code:
    /run local f = GetMouseFocus(); if f then DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(f:GetName()) end
    does work in 3.2

  2. #72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Trixster View Post
    Code:
    /run local f = GetMouseFocus(); if f then DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(f:GetName()) end
    does work in 3.2
    What I ended up doing is just using my blizz bar for the /click macros and got it to work. DPS has increase significantly! Thanks for everyone's help!
    Dana Pain
    Legion of Boom
    Kil'Jaeden



  3. #73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thulos View Post
    Can you share this macro please?
    Please send Stealthy a PM and ask for it. He can post it here if he likes but maybe it is top secret.
    Dana Pain
    Legion of Boom
    Kil'Jaeden



  4. #74

    Default

    Greetings all,

    one of my chars is a Death Knight which I essentially played using a /castrandom macro to use, Scourge Strike, Blood Strike, Rune Strike, Death Coil and put up Bone Shield.

    Now that Blizz has killed /castrandom this of course doesn't work. So I find myself here reading about /click.

    Now I could have misunderstood but my understanding is that if I set up one macro as follows, ALL buttons would be pressed at the same time.

    Mine reads:

    /click ActionButton3 <-------- Button 3 = Blood Strike
    /click ActionButton4 <-------- Button 4 = Scourge Strike
    /click ActionButton5 <-------- Button 5 = Obliterate
    /click ActionButton6 <-------- Button 6 = Death Coil

    Now I run this macro every .05 seconds but the only action that triggers is Button 3. Swap around the skills and that skill triggers.

    So am I totally missing the point?

    My only thought is may I have and I need the /castsequence "skill" ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, AS the buttons 3 4 5 6 and the /click as the main macro sitting say in Button 1.

    Would very much appreciate any help with this.

    Thank you.

  5. #75
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB and Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    7638
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    The "Click" functionality is essentially saying, press all of these things at once.

    It is the same thing as making a macro with every spell in one line.
    Normally this will work up until you have a 2nd spell which also incurs a global cooldown.

    So:

    /Use Icon of the Silver Crescent
    /Cast Elemental Mastery
    /Cast Lightning Bolt
    /Cast Flame Shock
    /Cast Lava Burst

    This functions up until Lightning Bolt.
    Anything past that point fails, because LB incurs a GCD, which FS and LvB also incur.

    By having the Clicks call castsequences we get around this.

    A castsequence will do one thing and then the next.
    With two castsequences running at once, the first to be called runs first.
    The second one tries to run, and like Flame Shock or Lava Burst fails to do anything.

    However, unlike just Clicking abilities or running my above macro, they are a sequence.
    Part of the sequence are comma's which function as "Nulls", which means nothing happens.

    So we have click one activating the Lightning Bolt.
    And nothing else happening.

    Click two activates "Null" on the first sequence, which means no GCD is incurred.
    This allows the second castsequence to do something. So Flame Shock will fire off.
    The Lava Burst fails because Flame Shock used the GCD it needs.

    The 3rd click gets a null on both the LB and FS castsequences, which allows LvB to fire off in the 3rd sequence.





    Generally when you're building these sequences, you'd like to follow these steps.

    Go to a target dummy, and figure out your DPS sequence.
    You'll generally have several abilities you wish to use.
    In your case it was Blood Strike, Scourge Strike, Obliterate and Death Coil.

    I don't know exactly how a Death Knight works, having not played one since the Beta.
    I do know abilities use Runic Power, which you need to have enough of to do them.
    I also know an ability generally costs a rune type, and you have two of each.
    So you could not do a Frost power, another Frost power and a third Frost power, until a Frost Rune refreshed.
    That's about the limit of my knowledge of DK powers.
    I don't know which of these powers you want incur which rune types or how much runic power they require.

    To build a strong DK rotation, you'd probably want:
    a) a Blood Ability.
    b) a Frost Ability.
    c) an Unholy Ability.
    d) a 2nd Blood Ability.
    e) a 2nd Frost Ability.
    f) a 2nd Unholy Ability.
    g) a Runic Power dump or an attack which doesn't use any rune type.

    You then need to know how fast you mash your click sequence key.
    Get a stopwatch or watch the clock for 15 seconds.
    While watching, spam something like P or R; anything where several in a row are easy to read ( PPPP has several down strokes which are easier to count then say XXXX ).
    Spam away, and then after 15 seconds count how many you typed.
    Divide that by 15, and you have your clicks per second, or thereabouts.

    Now you want to take your first ability.
    Figure out the recast delay or how long until you'd like to cast it again.
    Something like Chimera Shot for a hunter would be nice to cast often.
    Something like Flame Shock for a shaman would be better to cast just as it expires.
    Figure out how long after you cast it the first time, until you'd like to cast it a second time.
    I personally click at 2 clicks per second.
    If I'd like to do a Flame Shock every 18 seconds (12 seconds duration, but +6 seconds duration glyphed...)
    In the first second I click the spell and a null, so 18 - 1 = 17 seconds of delay, plus my null.
    So my first sequence is Flame Shock plus one comma plus [ 17 (my desired delay) x2 (my click speed) ] = 34 comma's.
    So I go with /Castsequence reset=combat Flame Shock,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    That's a total of 35 comma's for my click speed.
    One comma for the second click in the second that the spell fires off.
    34 additional clicks for the 17 seconds of delay, given my 2 clicks per second.

    Now that you have your first ability done, you'll want to choose a 2nd.
    Once that's done, choose a 3rd.
    Repeat for as many spells/abilities as you wish to include in your sequence.
    Ideally put an ability you can spam at the end for your fall through.
    The "Fall Through" will trigger when all the other sequences are on a "null".
    This way, you'll always be doing something if your toon can (is not waiting for a GCD).

  6. #76
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB and Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    7638
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Pretty easy to test if it clicks everything at once, or one thing after another.

    Make a macro, which reads:

    /Castsequence Curse of Agony
    /Castsequence Corruption
    /Castsequence Immolate
    /Castsequence Haunt
    /Castsequence Unstable Affliction
    /Castsequence Shadow Bolt

    Don't include any comma's in the sequences.
    If all buttons are clicked at once, then the later spells should not fire.
    I could see server latency possibly letting a Corruption go off, but probably not anything later in the macro.



    Personally, it makes sense that it tries to do everything at once.
    On click #1, the first sequence fires off.
    However the 2nd and subsequent macro's fail, because the first has incurred a GCD.
    We know a castsequence will not skip a spell, so these later sequences are still on the first cast.

    On click #2, the first sequence is a null, which allows the second sequence to act.
    Etc.

    I could easily be wrong, but that makes logical sense, and seems to be true to my observations.

  7. #77
    Super Moderator Stealthy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1450

    Default Click Macro for Ret Pallies

    Hi all,

    Here's my one button spam for Ret pallies:

    Macro 1:

    /assist focus
    /startattack
    /stopcasting
    /click MultiBarLeftButton1
    /click MultiBarLeftButton2
    /click MultiBarLeftButton3
    /click MultiBarLeftButton4
    /click MultiBarLeftButton5

    I'm using a focus setup, but you can easily change it for an FTL setup. Note you can use different click commands depending on where you are putting the other 5 macros:

    ActionButton# = Main Bar
    BonusActionButton# = Dynamic bar that switches actions based on Druid Forms, Warrior Stances, and Rogue Stealth
    MultiBarBottomLeftButton# = Bottom Left Bar
    MultiBarBottomRightButton# = Bottom Right Bar
    MultiBarRightButton# = Right Bar
    MultiBarLeftButton# = Right Bar 2 (to the left of "Right Bar")
    PetActionButton# = Pet Bar
    ShapeshiftButton# = Druid Forms, Paladin Auras, Warrior Stances, Death Knight Presences, Rogue Stealth


    The /stopcasting is there for exorcism and art of war procs...since excorcism now has a cast time, if the macro is called it starts to cast it, and art of war hasn't proc'd, the next button press will stop the cast. If art of war has proc'd however, it will be instant cast and the macro will go ahead. This macro will also cast Hammer of Wrath when the mob falls below 20% health. You can sub in Flash of Light for Exorcism if you want heals instead of dps. You can also macro in Consecration if facing multiple mobs (although this tends to chew through mana).

    Here are the rest of the macros that get called from the /click functions:

    Macro 2:
    #showtooltip
    /assist focus
    /castsequence reset=8/combat judgement of wisdom,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    Insert whatever judgement is appropriate.

    Macro 3:
    #showtooltip
    /assist focus
    /castsequence reset=10/combat Divine Storm,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,

    Macro 4:
    #showtooltip
    /assist focus
    /castsequence reset=4/combat Crusader Strike,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    Macro 5:
    #showtooltip
    /assist focus
    /castsequence reset=15/combat Exorcism,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,

    Macro 6:
    #showtooltip
    /assist focus
    /castsequence reset=6/combat Hammer of Wrath,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,


    Note - there aren't supposed to be spaces inbetween the commas, it just 'appears' that way in my posts.

    I'll post my prot pally macro when I get home (at work now).

    Let me know if you have any questions...

    Cheers,
    S.
    The Zerg (Magtheridon - US)

    Fact of Life: After Monday and Tuesday even the calendar says W T F.

  8. #78

    Default

    Thanks for that one Stealthy, will play around with this tonight!

  9. #79

    Default

    BTW, I got my /click setup pretty good and it made such a huge difference I was able to clear UK today! I also downed that crazy spit monster Erk in Gundrak yesterday. Looks like I am going to be able to start getting more emblems a day. Can't wait to finish pve gearing so I can start working on the pvp sets.

    Thanks!
    Dana Pain
    Legion of Boom
    Kil'Jaeden



  10. #80

    Default

    Do we still need /click?

    I remember the reason for it originally was multiple castsequences in one macro would bug out, and not remember their positions correctly. Has this been fixed since then?

    I just built a macro for my shammies based on the one Fursphere posted that involves something like this (all in one macro using macaroon):

    /castsequence [harm] reset=combat/3 flame shock,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    /castsequence [harm] reset=combat/3 lava burst,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    /castsequence [harm] reset=combat/3 chain lightning,,,,,,,,
    /cast [harm] lightning bolt; [help] lesser healing wave

    This seems to work fine, without needing /clicks to call separate macros.
    Last edited by Pocalypse : 08-12-2009 at 11:06 AM

Similar Threads

  1. ISSUE with Target=TargetTarget & Click Castsequences.
    By Ualaa in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-26-2009, 01:54 PM
  2. Re: Utilizing /click to run concurrent castsequences
    By Andreauk in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 07:23 PM
  3. Easy looting with click to interact/click to move (plus more)
    By rahven32 in forum New Multi-Boxers & Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-17-2009, 12:55 AM
  4. A new FTL system - utilizing /click
    By Owltoid in forum Macros and Addons
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-21-2009, 03:21 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2008, 12:17 AM

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •